Christmas Recycling and Refuse Collections in Surrey Heath

Thanks to residents' efforts it's been another great year for recycling in Surrey Heath, with the borough once again ranked as the best performing in Surrey, and one of the best in the country.

Surrey Heath Borough Council is encouraging everyone to continue the good work during the festive season by recycling as much as they can.

Among the materials that can be recycled are: mixed paper, card, food tins and drinks cans, as well as plastic containers, glass jars and bottles.

Festive items that can be recycled include all wrapping paper that rips, plastic and cardboard present packaging, crackers and foil mince pie cases.

Residents are also reminded that all mixed recycling should go into their green wheelie bin LOOSE, not in bags. This is because black bags & carrier bags often hide non-recyclable materials.

If residents’ green recycling bins are full, the collection crews will also remove excess recycling - just make sure it’s contained within a box or a bag so it doesn't blow away or make a mess!

Waste collection days will change over the Christmas and New Year period. They are revised as follows:

Week commencing: 21 December 2015

Normal collection day Revised Collection date
Monday 21 December Collection as normal
Tuesday 22 December Collection as normal
Wednesday 23 December Collection as normal
Thursday 24 December Collection as normal
Friday 25 December (Christmas Day) Monday 28 December

Week commencing: 28 December 2015

Normal collection day Revised Collection date
Monday 28 December Tuesday 29 December
Tuesday 29 December Wednesday 30 December
Wednesday 30 December Thursday 31 December
Thursday 31 December Saturday 2 January
Friday 1 January (New Year’s Day) Monday 4 January

Week commencing: 4 January 2016

Normal collection day Revised Collection date
Monday 4 January Tuesday 5 January
Tuesday 5 January Wednesday 6 January
Wednesday 6 January Thursday 7 January
Thursday 7 January Friday 8 January
Friday 8 January Saturday 9 January

Comments are closed.